Commissioner Britney Thornton

District 10
Graceland, Alcy Ball, Hamilton, Magnolia-Castalia, Pine Hill, Victor Kerr, Longview, Orange Mound, Glenview, Cooper Young, Oakhaven, Cherokee, Bethel Grove, Sherwood Forest, Getwell

Meeting Schedule

Meeting Agenda/Minutes/Audio/Video

Most Recent Newsletter

  1. ThorntonB784p

    Britney Thornton

    Commissioner: District 10

  2. Contact

    Physical Address
    160 N. Main Street
    Suite 600
    Memphis, TN 38103

    Fax: (901) 222-1002

  1. Kristen Gary

    Legislative Specialist

  1. On August 4, 2022, District 10 elected Britney Thornton to become the youngest County Commissioner in the history of Shelby County.  A native Memphian from Historic Orange Mound, Britney is a master social worker, licensed educator, and former law student.  From all of her years of service, she has found her passion as a community organizer.  A graduate of Baylor University and the University of Pennsylvania, Britney has called Memphis home for 33 years.  

    Founder of the non-profit JUICE Orange Mound, Britney continues to challenge systems of oppression by thinking of new and creative ways to address old issues.  Under her leadership, she mobilized Orange Mound residents and supporters to invest over $12,200 in spare change to fund community-based initiatives. Innovative, personable, and driven, Britney is elated to be elected as the County Commissioner for the best district-- District 10.   

    Constituents across District 10 can expect greatness from Commissioner Thornton.  Over the course of the next 4 years, Britney is committed to making strides in 3 key areas: Housing, Transit, and Economic Development.  Moreover, Britney has a passion for our neighborhoods and seeks to leverage her new position to organize the district.  Residents can expect to know which neighborhood they are connected to and plan to get more civically engaged.   

    With much gratitude does Commissioner Thornton thank all of her supporters!  If you would like to stay connected to the happenings in District 10, visit  

Committee Assignments

Delinquent Tax Property, Chairman
Public Works, Vice Chair
Core City, Neighborhoods and Housing, Vice Chair